earthquake clouds

andres

12-27-2004, 01:38 PM

Last Thursday, a japanese friend came over to my place to teach me hanga (woodblock printing).

“There will be an earthquake,” she said. This was the first thing she told me. I could see she had a troubled expression.
“How do you know? Can they predict this sort of thing?” I asked, trying to make conversation while taking my coat off.
“From the clouds… The clouds speak to me, and they tell me that there will be an earthquake”.
I was startled, naturally. Our conversations have always been rather strange, but this was quite new.
“When will it happen?” I was scrutinizing the sky now, not so much to find anything there, but really to hide the incredulity that was surely on my face.
“Soon. Maybe in one week”.
I mean, come on. I am a scientist. What possible connection could clouds have to a tremor that is yet to happen?
“Will it be strong?”
“Yes”.

This morning (Monday) I happened to be on the same bus as my boss. He asks me " was your country affected by the earthquake?" Eh???
I definitely felt shivers run up and down my spine when I heard that!! It turns out to be the biggest earthquake in the past 40 years!! I’m sure you’ve all heard about it by now.

I haven’t talked to my japanese friend yet. But now I’m almost scared of her. And it turns out there are such things as “earthquake clouds” (yes, I googled up the words). Yet, as a scientist, I am still skeptical. Has anyone else heard of this??

nick

12-28-2004, 08:55 PM

coincidence, i say. very creepy though. :skull:

Paul

12-29-2004, 01:25 PM