New Member-smooth_0118

smooth_0118

07-28-2005, 11:18 AM

Hello to Everyone!

I happened to find this site while I was surfing the net for information about Filipinos in Japan. I am a physician and university professor in Cagayan de Oro City and thinking of applying for a fellowship in Japan next year. I would like to know from you, my ‘kababayans’ in Japan what help, service, or need you may have. The fellowship will require that I perform some service, study, or academic work while I am there and I would like to do something which will be of help to fellow Filipinos. I would greatly appreciate any suggestion. Thank you very much and I hope to read posts from all you soon.

nick

07-28-2005, 08:03 PM

Hello smooth 0188, welcome to Timog Forum! I’ll let other members answer your question as I’m out of my depth when it comes to academic fellowships. Enjoy browsing around the forums. :slight_smile:

smooth_0118

07-29-2005, 08:07 AM

:slight_smile: Thank you for the quick reply nick. I really hope other kababayans will reply soon. I hope to have suggestions from anyone out there.

RISINGSUN

07-29-2005, 03:17 PM

Heloo smooth 0118. Welcome po sa TF. Sa palagay ko po ang unang dapat matutunan ay ang Nihongo. Unless na marunong na po kayo Dok.

smooth_0118

08-01-2005, 08:09 AM

:slight_smile: Hello RisingSun! Salamat sa sagot mo. Hindi requirement ang Nipponggo sa fellowship eh, English lamang ang requirement, specifically, ‘the ability to speak, and write in English to the degree of performing academic work’. I think this is because the fellowship is university-based (University of Kyoto) and I will presumably be communicating with fellow academics who speak English. Pero syempre, alam ko ko naman I will have to learn some amount of Nipponggo in order to get around the country.

Paul

08-02-2005, 01:39 AM