Newbie who's a bit confused about 'Otsukaresama'

walnut

11-24-2005, 04:02 PM

Hi everyone!

Just want to know what ‘Otsukaresamadesu’ really means… I often hear this and i dont really what to reply… Based from my nihongo book it is usually being used when going home…its like thank you for your hardwork or something. But there are times when my nihonjin friends are saying otsukare eventhough they’re not going anywhere… kinda confusing right? anyway, im new at this so i hope you will bear with me.

another one is the ‘yoroshiku onegaishimasu’ phrase. according to my ever dependable book, we say this when we introduce ourselves to someone or when we meet new people. but i always hear this term from my friends eventhough we already know each other. sometimes they will just say ‘yoroshiku’… what should i reply to that?? :confused:

i hope someone will enlighten me!

thanks!

:slight_smile:

tfcfan

11-24-2005, 06:23 PM

Hi everyone!

Just want to know what ‘Otsukaresamadesu’ really means… I often hear this and i dont really what to reply… Based from my nihongo book it is usually being used when going home…its like thank you for your hardwork or something. But there are times when my nihonjin friends are saying otsukare eventhough they’re not going anywhere… kinda confusing right? anyway, im new at this so i hope you will bear with me.

another one is the ‘yoroshiku onegaishimasu’ phrase. according to my ever dependable book, we say this when we introduce ourselves to someone or when we meet new people. but i always hear this term from my friends eventhough we already know each other. sometimes they will just say ‘yoroshiku’… what should i reply to that?? :confused:

i hope someone will enlighten me!

thanks!

:slight_smile: